Rahul Gandhi constitutes Congress Working Committee

New Delhi [India], July 18: Congress Working Committee (CWC), the party’s highest decision-making body, was on Tuesday, constituted by its president, Rahul Gandhi.

A total of 51 members were included in the new CWC, while first-time in charges of states were included as permanent invitees.

Meanwhile, senior Congress leaders Digvijaya Singh, Kamal Nath, Sushil Kumar Shinde, Mohan Prakash, CP Joshi and Shashi Tharoor have not been included in the new CWC.

The CWC includes 23 members, 19 permanent invitees and 9 special invitees.

The members include Rahul Gandhi, Sonia Gandhi, Dr Manmohan Singh, Motilal Vora, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Mallikarjun Kharge, AK Antony, Ahmed Patel, Ambika Soni, Oommen Chandy, Tarun Gogoi, Siddaramaiah, Anand Sharma, Harish Rawat, Kumari Selja, Mukul Wasnik, Avinash Pande, KC Venugopal, Dipak Babaria, Tamradhwaj Sahu, Raghuveer Meena, Gaikhangam and Ashok Gehlot.

Some of the permanent invitees to CWC include Sheila Dikshit, P Chidambaram, Jyotiraditya Scindia, PC Chacko, PL Punia, Randeep Surjewala.

The list of 10 special invitees includes KH Muniyappa, Arun Yadav, Deepender Hooda, Jitin Prasada, Kuldeep Vishnoi, the presidents of INTUC, IYC, NSUI and All India Mahila Congress and Chief Organiser, Congress Seva Dal.

All India Congress Committee (AICC) General Secretary Ashok Gehlot said all AICC independent in-charges, heads of all frontal organisations of the Congress Party mentioned in the list shall be the ex-officio members of the CWC as permanent and special invitee respectively.

The new CWC’s first meeting will be held on July 22.