Filmfare Awards 2020: Gully Boy sweeps all major awards

#dailynews60 : Zoya Akhtar’s ‘Gully Boy’ starring Ranveer Singh and Alia Bhatt swept the Filmfare Awards by winning all the major accolades at the event including the Best Film Award on Saturday night. While the lead duo of Ranveer and Alia won the Best Male and Female Actor Awards respectively, the director of the flick Zoya Akhtar was awarded Best Director.

‘Gully Boy’ – a film that revolved around music as a profession also bagged the award for the Best Music Album of the year which it shared with Sandeep Reddy Vanga’s ‘Kabir Singh’.

Both the supporting role awards also went to ‘Gully Boy’ with Amruta Subhash bagging it in the female category and Siddhant Chaturvedi getting it in the male category.

Other major awards that the film received at the event include Best Screenplay, Best Lyrics, and Best Dialogue.

‘Gully Boy’ is inspired by the lives of Mumbai street rappers Vivian Fernandes aka Divine and Naved Shaikh aka Naezy.

The film revolves around the underground rap movement in India and all the songs of the film have become extremely popular.

‘Gully Boy’ was produced by Ritesh Sidhwani and Farhan Akhtar under the Excel Entertainment banner in association with Tiger Baby.

The film was India’s official entry to the 92nd edition of Oscars.

Complete List of Winners: 

Best Film :
Gully Boy

Best Director :
Zoya Akhtar (Gully Boy)

Best Film (Critics) :
Article 15 (Anubhav Sinha)
Sonchiriya (Abhishek Chaubey)

Best Actor In A Leading Role (Male) :
Ranveer Singh (Gully Boy)

Best Actor (Critics) :
Ayushmann Khurrana (Article 15)

Best Actor In A Leading Role (Female) :
Alia Bhatt (Gully Boy)

Best Actress (Critics) :
Bhumi Pednekar (Saand Ki Aankh)
Taapsee (Saand Ki Aankh)

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Female) :
Amruta Subhash (Gully Boy)

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Male) :
Siddhant Chaturvedi (Gully Boy)

Best Music Album :
Gully Boy
Zoya Akhtar-Ankur Tewari
Kabir Singh
Mithoon, Amaal Mallik, Vishal Mishra, Sachet–Parampara and Akhil Sachdeva

Best Lyrics :
Divine and Ankur Tewari
Apna Time Aayega
Gully Boy

Best Playback Singer (Male) :
Arijit Singh…Kalank Nahi…Kalank

Best Playback Singer (Female) :
Shilpa Rao…Ghungroo…War

Best Debut Director :
Aditya Dhar – Uri: The Surgical Strike

Best Debut Actor :
Abhimanyu Dassani – Mard Ko Dard Nahi Hota

Best Debut Actress :
Ananya Pandey – Student Of The Year 2, Pati Patni Aur Woh

Best Original Story :
Article 15 – Anubhav Sinha and Gaurav Solanki

Best Screenplay :
Gully Boy – Reema Kagti and Zoya Akhtar

Best Dialogue :
Gully Boy- Vijay Maurya

Lifetime Achievement Award :
Ramesh Sippy

Excellence In Cinema :

RD Burman Award For Upcoming Music Talent :
Sashwat Sachdev- URI